Thursday, October 14, 2010

October Newsletter

Court Status: Progress continues! City has been working on landscaping, storage building is completed, and practice walls are being constructed. The second wall will go up after the tournament. Special thanks to John White for his donation of tables!

John White & John Genta examine practice wall


Nov 3rd: ATA Board meeting at noon; all members welcome

Nov 6: Roswell/Alamogordo exchange in Roswell; Steve Schuster is coordinating

Nov 13: Nov. play day turkey shoot with lunch to follow play at Morgan’s

Roswell/Alamogordo Exchange, Saturday, Nov. 6, in Roswell. Contact Steve Schuster to play in this event. ATA needs a good turn out to win BACK the coveted trophy. Roswell players are already gearing up, so give Steve a call or email and get signed up.

Middle School Tennis: ATA has again teamed up with NMSU-A this fall to offer a mid school tennis program. Nearly two dozen mid school players and a dozen ATA volunteers turned out for one of the best programs yet. Special thanks to all volunteers and to coaches Carl Jones & Linda Gilliland.

Welcome new members: Laurie Frappier recently joined ATA. She has recently moved to Alamogordo from Andrews AFB, Maryland, & has also lived in Albuquerque. Also, welcome back, David Kaleh from Ruidoso.

Sept. Play Day: Seven courts of players turned out for the Marita & Robert Farewell Play Day! Creative and memorable score cards resulted in prizes for high & low players, and over 30 people enjoyed German bratwurst, beer, and potato salad at the Meints following play. Thank you, Robert & Marita. We’ll miss you!

Look who showed up at the tournament. If you stayed to watch the Junior Finals during the 2010 Otero County Closed Tourney, you could have watched Sean Penn hitting on the adjacent court. Sean Penn, who is in town for the filming of the movie “This Must be the Place,” seemed to enjoy playing on our courts!

2010 Otero County Closed Tournament was another success. Thank you Grady & Nell Nicholson for again serving as tournament directors. Grady submitted the following article for ATA newsletter & Alamogordo News.

Brace-Emmert wins Men’s Singles Title For the second year in a row, Alamogordo’s Cameron Brace-Emmert won the Men’s Open Singles title in the annual Otero County Closed Tennis Tournament. He bested Dennis Johnston, Ruidoso, 6-2, 6-4 in the final. In the Men’s Open Doubles event, Dennis Johnston and David Kaleh, also of Ruidoso, defeated the team of Jeff Murray, Las Cruces, and Jeff Lazar, Phoenix, 6-3, 6-0. This year’s tournament saw 51 adult players in 11 events, with players coming from as far away as Cody Wyoming, and 10 youth playing in three events.

Other winners and runner-ups in the 11 adult events were: Men's 55 Doubles (Final Round) James Crouse / Thomas Springer (1) def. Steve Schuster / John White (2) 6-1; 6-4. Mixed 45 Doubles (Final Round) John Genta / Janet Santackas (2) def. Sabine Fahl / Paul Sanders (1) 6-4; 6-1. Men's 65 Singles (Final Round) Thomas Springer (1) def. David Kaleh 6-1; 6-1. Men's 45 Singles (Final Round) Rick Sotak def. Scot Key 7-5; 6-3. Men's Open Doubles (Final Round) Dennis Johnston / David Kaleh (1) def. Jeff Lazar / Jeffrey Murray 6-3; 6-0. Women's 35 Doubles (Final Round) Crystal Campbell Messer / Diane Gustafson (1) def. Cindy Carey / Anke Witac 6-2; 6-3 Mixed Open Doubles (Round Robin) Jose Fantauzzi / Natalie Rivera def. Cameron Brace-Emmert / Anke Witac 6-1; 6-0. Women's 45 Singles (Round Robin) Crystal Campbell Messer def. Janet Santackas 6-1; 6-0 NTRP Mixed 2.5 Doubles (Round Robin) Sonny McCauley / Gina Tisdale def. Bernice McRae / Greg Richardson 6-2; 6-4. Men's 45 Doubles (Round Robin) John Genta / Rick Sotak def. Darryl Gallent / Lee Gustafson 6-4; 7-5.

In the Youth Events, Andy Moezzi bested Christian Barnes, 8-3, in the seven-player Boys Singles draw, and Brittany Hymer placed first and Melanie Jun second in the Mixed Singles Novice round-robin event. Cameron Moezzi was a close third. In the Boys Doubles round-robin, the team of Andy Moezzi/ Tyler Kohler was first, Christian Barnes/ Jason Rodriguez were second, and Cody Moezzi/ Aslan Gallegos third.

Nicholsons & Campbells at tourney desk 2010-2011 ATA board

2010 ATA annual meeting: About 50 ATA members and guests turned out for the 2010 ATA annual meeting. Special thanks to Dan & Linda Gilliland for hosting! Three new board members were elected.

The ATA officers, from left to right above are: John White, President; Dale Emmert, Vice President and newsletter coordinator; Diane Gustafson, Secretary; Anke Witak, Member at large and Play Day Coordinator, & Bernice McRae, Treas.

ATA web page:

No comments: